Board of Directors

South Carolina Autism Society (SCAS) 

The South Carolina Autism Society (SCAS) was founded in 1972 and is a statewide 501(c) (3) non-profit charitable organization that provides case management; educational mentoring and planning; information, referral and resources; outreach; and training for persons and professionals affected by an autism spectrum disorder.

SCAS is governed by a 13-member Board of Directors that covers all regions of the state. SCAS is excited to announce that it will be adding members to its board in 2022. We are looking for community leaders, business leaders and those that have an affiliation with autism community. Please note that this is a volunteer position. If you are interested in joining a dynamic organization or would like more information, please contact Shawn Keith @ (803) 403- 1922. You can also send a letter of interest with a short bio to shawn@scautism.org.

SCAS also strongly advocates with state and federal governments to pass legislation to provide the services necessary for persons affected by an autism spectrum disorder. Our mission is to “equip those affected by autism spectrum disorders with knowledge and support to maximize their quality of life.”

2022 Board of Directors


Chair – Donald Wall – donaldwall@scautism.org
Vice Chair – Vacant
Treasurer – Siddhartha Chowdri – sidchowdri@scautism.org
Secretary – Becky Hughes – beckyhughs@scautism.org
2019-2022 Midlands – Nina Saini – ninasini@scautsim.org
2019-2022 Coastal – Melanie Wiley – melaniewiley@scautism.org
2019-2022 PeeDee – John Belissary – johnbelissary@scautism.org
2021-2024 At-Large – Joyce Nielsen
2019-2022 At-Large – Vida Mingo – vidamingo@scautism.org
2019-2022 At-Large – Latanya Goodson – latanyagoodson@scautism.org
2019-2022 At-Large – Brad Cooper –
2019-2022 At-Large – Teresa Lawrence – teresalawrence@scautism.org


Meetings

Dates for 2022 are as follows:

  • January 22nd
  • April 23rd
  • July 30th
  • October 22nd
  • December 10th – Annual Meeting

Meetings are held quarterly, beginning at 10:00 am at the SC Autism Society, 806 12th Street, West Columbia, SC. If you would like to speak at the meeting, please call SCAS 803-750-6988 or email scas@scautism.org to be put on the agenda.

Support The SCAS

The South Carolina Autism Society offers opportunities for persons that would be interested in donating their time to help improve the quality of life for those affected by an autism spectrum disorder.  The volunteer opportunities include but are not limited to awareness, fundraising, conferences, mentoring, office, outreach and training.

Please contact our office if you would be interested in becoming a volunteer.  Our office number is (803) 750-6988.  Someone may conduct an intake screening to find out what areas in which you would like to help.

Building Connections

 

We are actively building connections with businesses, schools, government and churches to provide resources to families in need across South Carolina. If you need help in your home or would like to help, please contact us! We cannot wait to hear from you!